India on Thursday will know who will succeed incumbent Ram Nath Kovind to turn out to be the nation’s fifteenth President, as counting of votes for the presidential election begins at 11am on the Parliament Home right here.

Ruling NDA’s Droupadi Murmu and Opposition’s Yashwant Sinha are pitted towards one another within the contest, with votes clearly stacked in favour of Murmu, who, if elected, would be the first tribal girl to occupy the highest constitutional publish within the nation.

Kovind’s tenure is ending on July 24 and the brand new president will take oath on July 25.

With poll packing containers from all states having reached the Parliament Home, ballot officers are prepared for the counting in room quantity 63, the strongroom of Parliament the place the packing containers are guarded behind a around the clock safety.

Rajya Sabha Secretary Common P C Mody, who’s the Chief Returning Officer for the ballot, will oversee the counting Thursday, the results of which is more likely to be declared by the night.

Mody will first transient on the ballot tendencies in any case votes of MPs have been counted, after which once more after votes of 10 states in alphabetical order have been counted.

Sources mentioned he’ll transient as soon as extra on the ballot tendencies after votes of 20 states have been counted, after which lastly declare the end result after the overall counting.

All poll packing containers from state assemblies had reached the Parliament’s strongroom on Tuesday night and have been locked there since. The poll packing containers had been flown into the nationwide capital as Mr Poll Field’ from throughout the states.

‘Mr Poll Field’ got here seated within the entrance row of plane underneath the watchful gaze of the Assistant Returning Officers (AROs) of their respective states.

The Election Fee had on Monday posted images of the sealed poll packing containers onboard flights accompanied by AROs.

In accordance with the EC, every poll field was issued an e-ticket underneath the title ‘Mr Poll Field’.

Polling for the presidential election was held between 10am to 5pm Monday at 31 places together with the Parliament home and 30 centres inside state legislative assemblies.

There are additionally experiences of cross-voting in favour of Murmu in quite a few states. There isn’t any whip issued to members within the presidential ballot.

MPs of each, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, besides nominated MPs, and all MLAs in legislative meeting in all states act as electors within the presidential ballot.

A complete of 4,809 electors, comprising 776 MPs and 4,033 elected MLAs, are entitled to vote within the election, however nominated MPs and MLAs, and Members of Legislative Council usually are not.

Over 99 per cent of the overall electors had solid their poll within the ballot that occurred Monday, in line with the Election Fee.

Eight MPs, together with BJP MPs Sunny Deol and Sanjay Dhotre, had been amongst those that missed casting their votes.

Actor-politician Deol missed voting since he’s overseas for medical remedy, whereas Dhotre gave it a cross since he was within the ICU.

Two MPs every from BJP and Shiv Sena, and one every from the BSP, Congress, SP, and AIMIM missed voting within the Monday polls.

Kovind had turn out to be the President after polling 7,02,044 votes out of a complete of 10,69,358 votes, whereas his rival Meira Kumar polled solely 3,67,314 votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like

JSPL inventory hits 52-week excessive in unstable market; this is why

Shares of Jindal Metal and Energy Ltd (JSPL) hit a recent 52-week…

Mukesh Ambani reclaims title of India’s richest man from Gautam Adani

Reliance Industries Restricted (RIL) chairman and managing director Mukesh Ambani has dethroned…

‘Tomorrow shall be higher’: Shanghai strikes nearer to COVID re-opening

The Chinese language metropolis of Shanghai inched additional in direction of a…

Wall St rallies as merchants dial again rate-hike bets; Dow jumps 600 pts

Wall Road’s principal indexes climbed greater than 2% on Friday as indicators…